California's Bicameral Legislature

When California became a state in 1850 the framers of the state's Constitution established a bicameral legislature by creating a lower house to represent the people and an upper house to represent the counties. The framers did this to prevent one political party from dominating the political landscape.

They understood that with a functional legislature the people in the urban counties could not pursue an agenda that benefitted themselves at the expense of the rural counties. A bicameral legislature created an important safeguard against a tyranny of the majority.

In 1964-65 as a result of the Supreme Court decision in Reynolds vs Sims California turned their bicameral legislature into a unicameral legislature with both houses representing the people and no house (the senate) representing the 58 counties in the state.

With this change, California created an opportunity for one political party to completely control the legislative branch of government. With the checks and balances it was impossible for the tyranny of the majority.

The following 40 Senatorial Districts in 1961 were as follows.

District 1 Lassen, Modoc & Plumas

District 2 Del Norte & Siskiyou Counties

District 3 Humboldt County

District 4 Lake & Mendocino Counties

District 5 Shasta & Siskiyou Counties

District 6 Butte County

District 7 Placer County

District 8 Colusa, Glenn & Tehama Counties

District 9 El Dorado & Amador County

District 10 Sutter & Yuba County District 11 Napa & Yolo Counties District 12 Sonoma County District 13 Marin County District 14 San Francisco County District 15 Solano County District 16 Alameda County District 17 Contra Costa County District 18 Santa Clara County District 19 Sacramento County District 20 San Joaquin County District 21 San Mateo County District 22 Stanislaus County District 23 Santa Cruz & San Benito Counties District 24 Madera & Merced Counties District 25 Monterey County District 26 Alpine, Inyo & Mono Counties District 27 Kings County District 28 Calaveras, Tuolumne & Mariposa Counties District 29 San Luis Obispo County District 30 Fresno County District 31 Santa Barbara County District 32 Tulare County District 33 Ventura County District 34 Kern County District 35 Orange County

District 36 San Bernardino County

District 37 Riverside County

District 38 Los Angeles County

District 39 Imperial County

District 40 San Diego County

